Armenia, officially the Republic of Armenia, is a state in the Caucasus, in the western part of Asia and the north-east part of the Armenian highlands. It is bordered by Azerbaijan, Iran, Turkey, and Georgia, and is a landlocked state. By population, Armenia is 136th in the world with almost 3 million people, and by territory is 138th with 29,743 km2. It is divided into 10 oblasts, plus the capital, Yerevan. Armenia was the first country to take Christianity as an official religion, and uses a unique alphabet dating back to 405 AD.

Date of independence (from USSR) – September 21, 1991.

Official language – Armenia.

Capital – Yerevan.

Biggest cities – Yerevan, Gyumri, Vanadzor.

Currency – Dram.

ISO Code – AM.

IOC Code – ARM.

Time zone – UTC +4.