Australia, officially the Commonwealth of Australia, is a country in the Southern Hemisphere, occupying the continent of Australia, the island of Tasmania and other islands in the Pacific and Indian Ocean – this makes Australia the sixth largest country in the world by size. To the north lies East Timor, Indonesia, and Papua New Guinea, to the north-east is Vanuatu, New Caledonia, and the Solomon Islands, and to the south-east is New Zealand.

Official language – Australian English.

Capital – Canberra.

Biggest cities – Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide.

Form of government – Parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

Area – 7,692,024 km2.

Population – 24,067,700.

Currency – Australian dollar.

ISO Code – AU.

IOC Code – AUS.

Time zone – UTC +8 through +11.