Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a federal republic and a landlocked country of over 8.8 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Hungary and Slovakia to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The terrain is highly mountainous, lying within the Alps; only 32% of the country is below 500 m (1,640 ft.), and its highest point is 3,798 m (12,461 ft.). The majority of the population speaks local Bavarian dialects of German as their native language, and German in its standard form is the country's official language. Other local official languages are Hungarian, Burgenland Croatian, and Slovene.

Capital – Vienna.

Biggest cities – Graz, Linz, Salzburg, Innsbruck, Klagenfurt, Sankt Pölten, Bregenz.

Form of government – Federal parliamentary republic.

Area – 83 879  km2.

Population – 8 711 770.

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – AT.

IOC Code – AUT.

Time zone – CET (UTC+1, summer UTC+2).