Cameroon, officially the Republic of Cameroon (French: République du Cameroun), is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west and north; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon's coastline lies on the Bight of Biafra, part of the Gulf of Guinia and the Atlantic Ocean. The country is often referred to as "Africa in miniature" for its geological and cultural diversity. Natural features include beaches, deserts, mountains, rainforests, and savannas. The highest point at almost 4,100 metres (13,500 ft) is Mount Cameroon in the Southwest Region of the country, and the largest cities in population-terms are Douala on the Wouri river, its economic capital and main seaport, Yaoundé, its political capital, and Garoua. The country is well known for its native styles of music, particularly makossa and bikutsi, and for its successful national football team.

Official language – English, French.

Capital – Yaoundé.

Biggest cities – Douala.

Area – 475,442 km2.

Population – 23,439,189.

Form of government – Unitary dominant-party presidential republic under an authoritarian dictatorship.

Currency – Central African CFA franc.

ISO Code – CM.

IOC Code – CMR.

Time zone – (UTC+1).