Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador, is a representative democratic republic in northwestern South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on the east and south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. Ecuador also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 kilometres west of the mainland. The capital city is Quito, while the largest city is Guayaquil.

Largest city    Guayaquil

Official languages    Spanish, recognized regional languages: Kichwa (Quichua), Shuar 

Area total 283,561 km2

Population 2016 estimate 16,385,068

Currency    United States dollar