France (officially the French Republic), is a sovereign state whose territory consists of metropolitan France in Western Europe, as well as several overseas regions and territories. The metropolitan area of France extends from the Mediterranean Se to the English Channel and the North Sea and from the Rhine to the Atlantic Ocean. The overseas territories include French Guiana in South America and several islands in the Atlantic, Pacific and Indian oceans.

Official language – French.

Capital – Paris.

Biggest cities – Marseille, Lyon, Lille, Nice, Toulouse and Strasbourg.

Form of government – Unitary semi-presidential republic.

Area – 643,801 km2.

Population – 67.25 million.

Currency – Euro, CFP franc.

ISO Code – FR.

IOC Code – FRA.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC+2