Germany, officially known as the Federal Republic of Germany, is a state in Western Europe. It is the 16th most populous country in the world, and the 62nd largest according to territory.

The government is a federal parliamentary republic consisting of 16 constituent states.

Located in the center of the European Union, Germany borders the Baltic and North Seas, and has land borders with Denmark to the north, Poland and the Czech Republic to the east, Austria and Switzerland to the south, and France, Luxemburg, Belgium, and the Netherlands to the west.

Official language – German.

Capital – Berlin.

Biggest cities – Berlin, Hamburg, Munich, Cologne, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Dusseldorf, Dortmund, Essen, Leipzig, Bremen.

Area – 357,021 km2.

Population – 81,292,400.

Currency – Euro

ISO Code – DE.

MOK Code – GER.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC +2.