India, or the Republic of India, is the largest country in South Asia, and the largest democracy in the world. India is home to 1,282,526,000 people spread across 3,287,263 km2.

India is divided into 29 states and 7 union territories that encompass one of the most diverse countries in the world.

India border Pakistan to the west, China, Nepal and Bhutan to the north-east, and Bangladesh and Myanmar to the east. India also has maritime borders with the Maldives to the south-west, Sri Lanka to the south, and Indonesia to the south-east.

Date of independence (from the United Kingdom) – August 15th, 1947.

Official languages – Hindi, English.

Capital – New Delhi.

Biggest cities – Mumbai, Delhi, Bangalore, Chennai, Kolkata.

Form of government – Federal parliamentary republic.

Currency – Rupee.

ISO Code – IN.

IOC Code – IND.

Time zone – UTC +5:30.