Israel (officially the State of Israel) is a state in south-west Asia. The population is 8.25 million people, and the area covers 22,072 km2 . Israel is 97th in the world according to population and 147th according to territory.

Israel has a unitary government which is a democratic parliamentary republic, and is divided into 6 administrative units. It is located in the Middle East, on the shores of the Mediterranean Sea. Israel borders Lebanon, Syria, Jordan, Egypt, and the River Jordan.

Date of independence (from Great Britain) – May 14th, 1948.

Official languages – Hebrew, Arabic.

Capital – Jerusalem.

Biggest cities – Jerusalem, Tel-Aviv, Haifa.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Currency – New shekel.

ISO Code – IL

IOC Code – ISR.

Time zone – UTC +2.