Latvia (officially known as the Republic of Latvia) is a state in Northern Europe. Latvia’s population numbers 1,962,700 people, making it the 149th biggest country in the world. Its area is 64,589 km2, which makes it the 122nd biggest country in the world by area. Latvia borders Estonia, Russia, Belarus and Lithuania, as well as the Baltic Sea. The country is divided into 110 administrative divisions and 9 municipalities, and the federal government is a unitary parliamentary republic. The Latvian language is related only to Lithuanian, and the two are the only remaining Baltic languages.

Date of independence – May 4th, 1990.

Official language – Latvian.

Capital – Riga.

Biggest cities – Riga, Daugavpils, Jekabpils, Jelgava, Jurmala, Liepaja, Ventspils.

Government – Parliamentary republic.

President – Raimonds Vejonis.

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – LV.

IOC Code – LAT.

Time zone – UTC +2, summer UTC +3.