Lithuania (officially the Republic of Lithuania) is located in Northern Europe, bordering Latvia, Belarus, Poland, and Russia as well as the Baltic Sea. At one point, the Kingdom of Lithuania stretched from the shores of the Baltic Sea to the Black Sea. The Lithuanian language is one of the last living Baltic languages, along with Latvian. Lithuania was one of the first republics to declare independence from the Soviet Union.

Date of independence (from USSR) – March 11th, 1990.

Official language – Lithuanian.

Capital – Vilnius.

Biggest cities – Vilnius, Kaunas, Klaipeda.

Area – 65,300 km2

Population – 2,898,062

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – LT.

IOC Code – LTU.

Time zone – UTC +2, summer UTC +3.