Madagascar, officially the Republic of Madagascar, and previously known as the Malagasy Republic, is an island country in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of East Africa. The nation comprises the island of Madagascar (the fourth-largest island in the world), and numerous smaller peripheral islands. 

Capital and largest city    Antananarivo

Official languages Malagasy and French

Area total 587,041 km2

Population  2016 estimate 24,894,551

Currency    Malagasy ariary