The Netherlands (officially the Kingdom of the Netherlands) is a state that consists of a country in Western Europe plus the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eusatius, and Saba in the Caribbean. The European part, often simply known as the Netherlands, borders Germany, Belgium, and the North Sea.

Official language – Dutch.

Capital – Amsterdam.

Biggest cities – Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague, Utrecht.

Form of government – Parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

Area – 41,543 km2.

Population – 17,022,101.

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – NL.

IOC Code – NED.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC +2.