Poland (officially known as the Republic of Poland) is a state in Eastern Europe, covering 312,679 km2 and home to 38,623,221 people. This makes Poland the 36th biggest country in the world according to population and the 69th biggest according to territory.

Poland is a unitary parliamentary republic, divided into 16 voivodeships.

Poland is bordered to the north by the Baltic Sea, and has land borders with Russia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, and Germany.

Date of independence – November 11, 1918.

Official language – Polish.

Capital – Warsaw.

Biggest cities – Warsaw, Krakow, Lodz, Wroclaw, Poznan, Gdansk.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Currency – Zloty.

ISO Code – PL.

IOC Code – POL.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC +2.