Republic of Moldova

Moldova, officially the Republic of Moldova, is a landlocked country in Eastern Europe, bordered by Romania to the west and Ukraine to the north, east, and south (by way of the disputed territory of Transnistria).

On 27 August 1991, as the dissolution of the Soviet Union was underway, the Moldavian SSR  declared independence and took the name Moldova. The current Constitution of Moldova was adopted in 1994. The strip of the Moldovan territory on the east bank of the Dniester river has been under the  facto control of the breakaway government of Transnistria since 1990.

Official language – Romanian.

Capital – Chisinau.

Biggest cities – Tiraspol, Balti, Tighina.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Currency – Leu.

ISO Code – MD.

IOC Code – MDA.

Time zone – CET (UTC +2, summer UTC +3).