Russian Federation

Russia, officially known as the Russian Federation, is located in Eastern Europe and Northern Asia. The population numbers at 146,544,710 people and the total area is 17,125,191 km2. Russia is the largest country in the world by area, and ninth largest by population.

Russia is a mixed federative republic. This includes 46 oblasts, 22 republics, 9 regions, 3 cities with federal power, 4 autonomous okrugs, and 1 autonomous oblast.

Russia borders 18 countries, which makes it the country that borders the most other countries. These include Norway, Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Belarus, Ukraine, Abkhazia, Mongolia, and North Korea; Russia also has maritime borders with Japan and the US.

Russia is a diverse nation with a wide variety of ethnic and culture diversity.

Russia is located in the Northern Hemisphere, in the northern half of the Eurasian continent. It borders the Pacific and Arctic Oceans, as well as the Baltic, Black and Caspian Seas, and the Sea of Azov. The Ural Mountains divide Russia into European and Asian halves.

Official language – Russian.

Capital – Moscow.

Biggest cities – Moscow, Saint Petersburg, Novosibirsk, Ekaterinburg, Nizhny Novgorod, Kazan, Chelyabinsk, Samara, Omsk, Ufa, Perm, Krasnoyarsk, Voronezh, Volgograd.

Form of government – Semi-presidential constitutional republic.

Currency – Ruble.

ISO Code – RU.

IOC Code – RUS.

Time zone – UTC +2 through +12 (11 time zones).