Singapore, officially the Republic of Singapore, is a sovereign city-state and island country in Southeast Asia. It lies one degree (137 kilometres or 85 miles) north of the equator  at the southern tip of the Malay Peninsula, with Indonesia's Riau Islands to the south and Peninsular Malaysia to the north. Singapore's territory consists of one main island along with 62 other islets. Since independence, extensive  land reclamation has increased its total size by 23% (130 square kilometres or 50 square miles).

Official language – English, Malay, Mandarin, Tamil.  

Capital – Singapore.

Form of government – Unitary dominant-party parliamentary republic.

Currency – Singapore dollar.

ISO Code – SG.

IOC Code – SIN.

Time zone – GMT +08:00.