Slovakia (officially the Slovak Republic) is located in Central Europe, bordering the Czech Republic, Austria, Poland, Hungary, and Ukraine. The population is 5,428,411 and the area is 48,845 km2. Slovakia is a unitary parliamentary republic that is divided into 8 regions. The country is landlocked.

It is the 112th biggest country by population and 127th by territory.

Date of independence (from Czechoslovakia) – January 1, 1993.

Official language – Slovak.

Capital – Bratislava.

Biggest cities – Bratislava, Kosice, Presov, Nitra, Zilina.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – SK.

IOC Code – SVK.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC +2.