Switzerland, officially known as the Swiss Confederation, is a state in Western Europe. It borders Germany to the north, Italy to the south, France to the west, and Austria and Lichtenstein to the east.

Switzerland is landlocked, and is divided into three geographically distinct areas: the Alps, the Swiss Plateau, and the Jura. The Alps occupy around 61% of Switzerland’s territory, while the majority of people are concentrated on the Plateau.

Official languages – German, French, Italian, Romansh.

Capital – Bern.

Biggest cities – Zurich, Geneva, Basel, Bern, Lausanne.

Form of government – Multi-party directorial republic.

Area – 41,284 km2.

Population – 7,996,026.

Currency – Swiss franc.

ISO Code – CH.

IOC Code – SUI.

Time zone – UTC +1, summer UTC +2.