Syrian Arab Republic

Syria, officially known as the Syrian Arab Republic, is a country in Western Asia, bordering Lebanon and the Mediterranean Sea to the west, Turkey to the north, Iraq to the east, Jordan to the south, and Israel to the southwest. Syria's capital and largest city is Damascus. A country of fertile plains, high mountains, and deserts, Syria is home to diverse ethnic and religious groups, including Syrian Arabs, Greeks, Armenians, Assyrians, Kurds, Circassians, Mandeans and Turks.

Official language – Arabic.

Capital – Damascus.

Area – 185,180 km2.

Population – 17,064,854.

Form of government – Unitary dominant-party semi-presidential republic.

Currency – Syrian pound.

ISO Code – SY.

IOC Code – SYR.

Time zone – EET (UTC+2, summer UTC+3).