Tajikistan (officially known as the Republic of Tajikistan) is a landlocked state located in Central Asia among the Pamir Mountains. It is the smallest country in Central Asia, bordered on the west and north-west by Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan on the north, China on the east, and on the south by Afghanistan. 93% of Tajikistan’s territory is mountainous.

Date of independence (from USSR) – September 9th, 1991.

Official languages – Tajik (state) and Russian (language of international communication).

Capital – Dushanbe.

Biggest cities – Dushanbe, Khujand, Panjakent, Kulob, Qurghonteppa, Istaravshan.

Form of government – Presidential republic.

President – Emomali Rahmon.

Area – 142,000 km2.

Population – 8,547,400.

Currency – Somoni.

ISO Code – TJ.

IOC Code – TJK.

Time zone – UTC +5.