Uganda, officially the Republic of Uganda is a landlocked country (except for bordering a lake) in East-Central Africa. It is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region. Uganda also lies within the Nile basin, and has a varied but generally a modified equatorial climate.

Capital and largest city    Kampala

Official languages    English and Swahili

Area total 241,038 km2

Population 2016 estimate 41,487,965

Currency    Ugandan shilling