Ukraine is located in Eastern Europe, and is the 32nd biggest country by population, and 44th by territory. Ukraine is the largest country located entirely in Europe.

Ukraine is a semi-presidential constitutional republic. It borders Belarus in the north, Poland, Slovakia and Hungary in the west, Romania and Moldavia in the south-west, and Russia in the east and northeast. The Black and Azov Seas lie to the south and southeast.

Date of independence (from the USSR) – August 24, 1991.

Official language – Ukrainian.

Capital – Kyiv.

Biggest cities – Kyiv, Kharkov, Odessa, Dnipropetrovsk, Donetsk, Zaporizhia, Lviv, Kryvyi Rih.

Area – 603,549 km2.

Population – 42,504,274.

Currency – Hryvnia.

ISO Code – UA.

IOC Code – UKR.

Time zone – UTC +2, summer UTC +3.