United Republic of Tanzania

Tanzania, officially the United Republic of Tanzania, is a sovereign state in eastern Africa within the African Great Lakes region. It borders Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; Zambia, Malawi, and Mozambique to the south; and the Indian Ocean to the east. Mount Kilimanjaro, Africa's highest mountain, is in north-eastern Tanzania.

Capital    Dodoma (de jure), Dar es Salaam (de facto)

National language    Swahili

Area total 947,303 km2

Population 2016 estimate 55,572,201

Currency    Tanzanian shilling