Zhorgo Salysh

Zhorgo Salysh

Traditional Horse Racing. To the national horse racing are referred long distance horse racing and the race of pacers.

National horse racing is subdivided to types depending on horse age, distance and racing technique:

1. At Chabysh – long distance racing.
2. Kunan Chabysh – racing two-year-old horses.
3. Zhorgo Salysh – pacer racing.
4. Byshty Zhorgo – pacer racing of three-year-old horses.


ZHORGO SALYSH – racing on the ambler horses.

Composition of the teams – 2 horses, 2 riders, 2 coaches, 2 grooms.

Age of the equestrians – 12 and older. Horses of all breeds over 3 years old are admitted into the races. The races are 11 km in length.

The national team of the Kyrgyz Republic consists of 18 ambler horses (2 horses from each region including Bishkek and Osh cities), 18 riders, 18 coaches and 18 grooms.

Download: competition rules of Zhorgo Salysh